Maintenance of Certification

The ABCL provides the maintenance of certification (MOC) program to all ABCL Diplomates. You can apply online and start your application today.

A $600 recertification fee is required when submitting your application for maintenance of certification.

Returning User? Log in.

Forgot your password? Click here.


Start a New Application »

What is Maintenance of Certification?

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is defined by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) as: “A system of ongoing professional development, practice assessment, and improvement. It challenges physicians to focus on the continuous development of their skill set, especially those skills that enable them to function effectively in interprofessional teams, integrated systems of care, and community settings.” The ABMS is comprised of 24 constituent boards, including the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM), that oversee physician certification in the United States. The ABMS Program for MOC focuses on key physician skills and knowledge critical for improving health care. The ABMS standards provide a framework for certifying boards to use in developing their own MOC programs. Board certification is the beginning of a physician’s personal commitment to providing quality patient care. Both board certification and MOC are indicators that physicians know today’s standards of practice.

ABCL physicians
3 core competencies of MOC

The ABCL is committed to establishing and maintaining a rigorous and clinically valid certification process to assure clinical competency by physicians in the field of Clinical Lipidology. Of even greater importance, the certification process helps achieve good patient outcomes by promoting a standard of excellence in clinical care. The ABCL Board of Directors have carefully and intentionally designed an MOC program that offers flexibility and accommodation for diplomates, while staying true to the six core competencies of MOC set forth by the ABMS: professionalism, interpersonal skills, communication skills, procedural skills, system-based practice, and patient care.

As with the MOC process established by the ABMS constituent boards, the ABCL’s MOC Program encourages, measures, and recognizes the essential task of maintenance of competency through lifelong learning. In efforts to achieve the mission of the ABCL and promote the interests of Diplomates and their patients, the ABCL is pursuing formal recognition of Clinical Lipidology as a subspecialty by the ABIM in the near future. To remain certified with the ABCL, all Diplomates must comply with MOC requirements detailed in this MOC Program Guide.